Sunday, July 27, 2008

Prometheus Awards Winners

The Libertarian Futurist Society has released winners of this year's Prometheus Awards in advance of the planned awards ceremony at the World Science Fiction Convention in Denver next month.

For the first time in the history of the award, there is a tie this year for Best Novel. Winners and finalists are as follows:

NOVEL (tie)
The Gladiator, Harry Turtledove (Tor)
Ha'Penny, Jo Walton (Tor)
The Execution Channel, Ken MacLeod (Tor)
Fleet of Worlds, Larry Niven & Edward M. Lerner (Tor)
Ragamuffin, Tobias S. Buckell (Tor)

A Clockwork Orange, Anthony Burgess
As Easy as A.B.C., Rudyard Kipling
The Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien
The Once and Future King, T.H. White
That Hideous Strength, C.S. Lewis

The Hall of Fame category includes works sometimes nominated year after year until they win; Burgess' novel was a finalist in the category in 1999, 2002, 2003, 2006, and 2007.

The Prometheus Awards were established in 1979. Winners receive a plaque and a one-ounce gold coin.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Writing shed

I have a writing shed behind our house, We call it The Library because that's where all my books are shelved. It is also home for our...