Sunday, March 23, 2008

Hugo Nominees announced

Nominees have been announced for this year's Hugo Awards. Winners will be announced at the 66th World Science Fiction Convention, Aug. 6-10, in Denver. A complete list of nominees follows.

Best Novel: The Yiddish Policeman's Union by Michael Chabon, Brasyl by Ian McDonald, Rollback by Robert J. Sawyer, The Last Colony by John Scalzi, Halting State by Charles Stross

Best Novella: "Fountains of Age" by Nancy Kress, "Recovering Apollo 8" by Kristine Kathryn Rusch, "Stars Seen Through Stone" by Lucius Shepard, "All Seated on the Ground" by Connie Willis, "Memorare" by Gene Wolfe

Best Novelette: "The Cambist and Lord Iron: A Fairytale of Economics" by Daniel Abraham, "The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate" by Ted Chiang, "Dark Integers" by Greg Egan, "Glory" by Greg Egan, "Finisterra" by David Moles

Best Short Story: "Last Contact" by Stephen Baxter, "Tideline" by Elizabeth Bear, "Who's Afraid of Wolf 359?" by Ken MacLeod, "Distant Replay" by Mike Resnick, "A Small Room in Koboldtown" by Michael Swanwick

Best Related Book: The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community by Diana Glyer; Breakfast in the Ruins: Science Fiction in the Last Millennium by Barry Malzberg; Emshwiller: Infinity x Two by Luis Ortiz; Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher; The Arrival by Shaun Tan

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Enchanted; The Golden Compass; Heroes, season one; Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix; Stardust

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Battlestar Galactica: Razor; Dr. Who, "Blink"; Dr. Who, "Human Nature"/"Family of Blood"; Star Trek New Voyages, "World Enough and Time"; Torchwood, "Captain Jack Harkness"

Best Professional Editor, Short Form: Ellen Datlow, Stanley Schmidt, Jonathan Strahan, Gordon Van Gelder, Sheila Williams

Best Professional Editor, Long Form: Lou Anders, Ginjer Buchanan, David G. Hartwell, Beth Meacham, Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Best Professional Artist: Bob Eggleton, Phil Foglio, John Harris, Stephan Martiniere, John Picacio, Shaun Tan

Best Semiprozine: Ansible, Helix, Interzone, Locus, The New York Review of Science Fiction

Best Fanzine: Argentus, Challenger, Drink Tank, File 770, PLOKTA

Best Fan Writer: Chris Garcia, David Langford, Cheryl Morgan, John Scalzi, Steven H. Silver

Best Fan Artist: Brad Foster, Teddy Harvia, Sue Mason, Steve Stiles, Taral Wayne

The finalists for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were also announced. The nominees are Joe Abercrombie, Jon Armstrong, David Anthony Durham, David Louis Edelman, Mary Robinette Kowal and Scott Lynch.

1 comment:

Writing shed

I have a writing shed behind our house, We call it The Library because that's where all my books are shelved. It is also home for our...